Listed below you will find a short summary of the open burning laws in New Kent County, as well as the appropriate county code for reference. If there are any questions, please feel free to contact the New Kent Fire-Rescue Fire Marshal Office.
Homeowners: You may burn small piles of yard debris, leaves, and brush between the hours of 4 p.m. and Midnight without a permit, if the following conditions are met:
- The burning pile is 50 feet or more away from the dwelling.
- It is in a controlled pile where there is no opportunity for fire spread.
- The burning pile must not contain any refuse of plastics, rubber, hazardous materials, or petroleum products.
- Any pile larger than normal household brush clearance MUST have a permit issued from the Fire Marshal’s office, especially burning for the purposes of land clearing.
- If a permit is required, it MUST be obtained by the Fire Marshal’s office at least 14 days prior to the start of burning.
Be Mobile Ready
The Ready Virginia mobile app, created by the Virginia Department of Emergency Management is an interactive tool that makes it easier than ever to be prepared for emergencies. The free app for iPhone® and Android™ devices provides emergency planning and guidance and other robust features not previously available in any mobile application.
|May - 2013|
Copyright © 2013
New Kent Fire-Rescue
PO Box 209
New Kent, Virginia 23124